Committee of Correspondence appointed


Tuesday Morning, September 17, 1776.

The Convention met pursuant to adjournment.

Present: Abraham, Yates, Jun˙, Esq˙, President.

For NEW-YORK˙ — Mr˙ Bancker, Mr˙ Duane, Mr˙ Jay, Mr˙ Harper.

For DUTCHESS˙ — Dr˙ Crane, Mr˙ R˙ R˙ Livingston, Mr˙ Sackett,

For ALBANY˙ — Mr˙ Abraham Yates, General Ten Broeck, Mr˙ Robert Yates, Mr˙ Ten Broeck, Mr˙ Adgate.

For ORANGE˙ — Colonel Allison, Mr˙ Smith, Dr˙ Sherwood, Mr˙ Wisner.

For SUFFOLK˙ — Mr˙ Smith, Mr˙ Hobart.

For WESTCHESTER˙ — Mr˙ Mills, Mr˙ Haviland, Mr˙ Platt.


For CHARLOTTE˙ — Mr˙ Duer, Mr˙ Webster.

For ULSTER˙ — Mr˙ Wisner, Jun˙, Major Parks.

For TRYON˙ — Mr˙ Moore, Mr˙ Harper, Mr˙ Veder.

For CUMBERLAND˙ — Mr˙ Sessions, Mr˙ Stevens.

Resolved, That Colonel Allison, Mr˙ R˙ R˙ Livingston, and Mr˙ Wisner, Sen˙, be and are hereby appointed a Committee of Correspondence. That they be and hereby are authorized to establish Post-Riders between the Fishkill, where this Convention now statedly sits, and Head-Quarters, for the purpose of obtaining daily intelligence; and that this Convention will make provision for defraying the expense thereof, and that the said Committee be and are hereby empowered to write Letters to any correspondents, and take every other proper means to obtain intelligence.