Colonel Peter R. Livingston elected President, Committee of Safety appointed



Thursday Morning, September 26, 1776.

The Convention met. Present:

NEW-YORK Members˙ — Mr˙ Duane, Mr˙ Dunscomb, Mr˙ Bancker.

WESTCHESTER˙ — Major Lockwood, Colonel Cortlandt, Colonel Drake.

ALBANY˙ — General Ten Broeck, Mr˙ Ten Broeck, Colonel Livingston.

ORANGE˙ — Mr˙ Little, Mr˙ Jos˙ Smith.

ULSTER˙ — Mr˙ Wisner, Jun˙, Major Park.

TRYON˙ — Mr˙ Harper, Mr˙ Moore, Mr˙ Veder.

DUTCHESS˙ — Mr˙ Sackett, Captain Platt.

CHARLOTTE. — Major Webster, Mr˙ Duer.

CUMBERLAND˙ — Mr˙ Sessions, Mr˙ Stephens.

The President, Abraham Yates, Jun˙, Esq˙, with leave being gone home to visit his family, the Convention proceeded to elect by ballot a President. Colonel Peter R˙ Livingston was duly elected, and accordingly took the chair.

On motion of General Ten Broeck,

Resolved, That a Committee of Safety be immediately appointed, to consist of the President, with Mr˙ Duane, Mr˙ Duer, Colonel Cortlandt, Zephaniah Platt, Mr˙ Wm˙ Harper, and Colonel Drake. That any three of those gentlemen, with the President, be a quorum. That every member


of the Convention who may attend have a vote. That no Member of Convention depart this neighbourhood without leave of the Committee of Safety, and that the said Committee have power and are hereby authorized to send for absent Members of the Convention of this State.

Mr˙ Veder being so sick and indisposed that he is unable to sit or attend the Convention, and there not being Members sufficient to continue the Convention without Mr˙ Veder' s attendance, therefore the Convention from necessity adjourned till nine o' clock to-morrow morning.

And Ordered, That the Committee of Safety meet immediately.